Leave a comment

Death of the PDA?

PDAI love my HP PDA, but apparently it’s on the way out, soon to be replaced by converged mobile devices and smart phones.
I can’t deny that I’ve seriously considered buying an iPhone or something similar, but what has held me back until now has been the price and the added cost of the monthly service plan. I ask myself do I really need to be totally connected and online all the time? I can now download internet pages to my pocket PC and review them at my leisure, or catch up on my email on the way home on the train without having to think of an immediate response. It’s a much more leisurely approach to information retrieval and storage, and one I would hate to see superseded.

However, according to Ramon Llamas of IDC production of handheld devices has been shrinking to the point where it might indicate that vendors are considering exiting from the market.

I think there are enough die hard PDA fans out there to keep the market alive for a while yet, but let’s face it, like time, technology waits for no man (or woman). It just keeps powering ahead.

Leave a Reply

